Business · CAL · Craft Along · designing · Disability Awareness · Inspiration · Mental Health

Self Care CAL – Maker Spotlight – Emma from Buttons Inc.

wp-image--133790996
Photo – Emma’s own.

Emma from Buttons Inc. is a lovely lady. She makes unique cards and gifts using buttons as embellishments. She has a lot of butterflies in her shop so she’s immediately my kind of lady! I love butterflies or Pilipala as they’re called in Welsh.

Emma crafts to help her anxiety, depression and a personality disorder. I’ve spoken to her a few times since we were organising the CAL and prizes and she’s really lovely and hardworking.

Emma has kindly donated a set of four butterfly cards to the CAL. You can find her main shop here.

She’s answered some questions for me. I shared the answers below. I hope you enjoy reading them.

How long have you been crafting?

I enjoyed art at school after my first breakdown started painting and drawing again also making cards for last year been doing buttons frame and signs.

What’s your favourite craft?

Making cards is my favourite and using buttons.

When did you start selling your work?

My friend said I could sell my crafts but I always said I’d think about it then I was watching this morning a lady was talking about Conscious Crafties. It sounded good. The perfect place to start the business looked into it and found as well as online shop there was support and I could make friends. I applied to Karen was accepted in august since then I’ve made friends, received great support and sold cards. I really enjoy being part of conscious crafties community.

Tell us a bit about your disability/ies?

I have mental health issues, a personality disorder, depression and anxiety. Some days I don’t get out bed. Other days are better. Crafting does help my mood.

Any social media? I.e. Facebook page/Twitter/Instagram

I have Facebook business page not great with technology had lot help from wonderful lady in Conscious Crafties.

What’s your favourite colour?

Pink oh and sparkle!

Where did your business name come from?

I have obsessions with buttons. Friends call me buttons. I talked it over with friend. I said buttons she added inc.

Favourite book/movie?

Jojo Moyes –  Me Before You.

What’s the perfect Sunday?

A nice bath, a good drama on TV and cake.

What does self care mean to you?

Taking time for myself.

Up until the end of September, if you buy anything from the Conscious Crafties website, you could win a £50 voucher for the site and 5 runners up with get a surprise handmade gift! Why not take a look today!

One thought on “Self Care CAL – Maker Spotlight – Emma from Buttons Inc.

Leave a Reply

