Business · Crochet · designing · Fibromyalgia · Gifted Goodies · Gifts · Inspiration · Knitting · Looking for the silver lining · Mental Health · PCOS · Random Musings · Ravelry · RiverSystem · Uncategorized · Violin · Yarn Addict

Looking For the Silver Lining – April 2017

When I sat down to look at my achievements and the events of the last month, I thought it was an horrific month mentally. But some nice things actually did happen last month.

IMG_20170422_121012_754All I have to say is Wonderwool Wales and you’ll know I had lots of fun! I took my sister in law and my mother in law and met a friend there. I also spoke to two ladies I met through the Winwick Mum Sockalong group. I also visited the Coleg Sir Gar stand and spoke to a lovely lady who promised to send my regards to the library staff.

I met the lady behind Ewe and Ply and got some yarn from her. The pink yarn at the bottom of the photo was £4 for 650g! It’s 100% Shropshire wool which is quite scratchy but I washed and blocked a swatch and it softened up really well.

I also bought some hand dyed lace weight yarn that I’m going to use to design a shawl. At the moment, I’m leaning towards a Robin Hood and Maid Marian inspired shawl but I’m keeping the details under my hat for now!

I was a bit disappointed because I bought a lovely ball of West Yorkshire Spinners Signature 4ply but it fell out of my walker and I lost it! But at least it wasn’t the unique skein of hand dyed yarn! I wanted to design a Siôl Fagu with it. My sister in law gave me some money towards another ball and I got two balls from Wool Warehouse last week. Although I think I’m going to need more!

DSC_0056

IMG_20170423_151157_743I finished my Nameless Shawl last month and have now blocked it and worn it a few times. Though I think I might have to wait a few months to be able to wear it! I love how it’s turned out and it’s being test knit as we speak! I currently have a giveaway on the blog. You could win a copy of my pattern and a £15 voucher for For the Love of Yarn so you can make the shawl yourself! All you have to do is choose a name for the new shawl! I can’t wait to publish it for you all to see!

DSC_0076

Last weekend, RiverSystem and I went to see Go 8 Bit being filmed. We had so much fun! People were rolling in the aisles! They had a really strict policy against taking photos in the studio so I haven’t got a photo of Dara O’Briain sorry! The guests were Jodie Kidd and Gregg Wallace. I have to be honest, I was a bit disappointed that there were so many violent games being played and also the amount of swearing that went on between takes. The voting was really easy to do and every time we were supposed to vote, Dara made the same joke but we still laughed! I won’t give you any specific details but the show we saw was part of series 3 and they’re just about to put series 2 on Dave at the moment so you’ll have to wait a while to see me! We were in the front row too, so we had the perfect seat! As a side note, SRO who organised the audience were really good. They couldn’t do enough to help and there was a lovely lady that was specifically there to help the disabled people to get in and out of the studio. There was a blind lady that I met who was really nice and she had a lot of fun!

IMG_20170408_161151_873I went to visit a friend back home in Llanelli in April and I’m hoping to go back soon. I learned for the first time that there’s an amphitheatre in Carmarthen. I’m thinking that I need to go back and take some photos. I’m also thinking about designing a long stole in Roman inspired colours and designs and I’ll call it Moridunum which is the Latin word for Carmarthen. Incidentally, Carmarthen is rumoured to be the town where Merlin of King Arthur fame was born. I don’t know if it’s actually true but it’s interesting if it is! There’s evidence to show that rather than being a wizard, Merlin was actually a Druid who during the time he was alive were a bit like the Welsh Witch Doctors and wise men. The guy in Astrix and Oblelix is actually more accurate than you’d care to admit!

IMG_20170418_200438_306I’ve been spending a lot of time doing things for me this month. My health hasn’t been brilliant after I had a severe panic attack and a psychotic episode about a fortnight ago. I was rushed to hospital in an ambulance so I could speak to an emergency psychiatrist. I spent 5 hours waiting to be seen and was exhausted by the time I got home and was really annoyed that everyone made me feel like it was a big inconvenience to them. I’ve been referred for emergency counselling for my Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and Generalised Anxiety Disorder. The psychiatrist was really lovely but I can’t help feeling that they would rather I’d have just stayed home because they didn’t offer any support other than the counselling. I’m going to see the GP tomorrow to ask him what my options are. Then on the weekend it was TOTM and I’m really struggling with migraines and pain in my abdomen and extreme exhaustion from the doing too much over the weekend.

So that’s my Silver Lining this month. What have you been up to? Have you had a good month?

Leave a Reply

