Disability Awareness · Fibromyalgia · Hospital Visits · Medical Procedures · Random Musings

Surviving an MRI Scan…

As many of you will know, I had an MRI scan last week. I’m still waiting for the results but the doctor is convinced I haven’t got cancer which is always a good thing! Anyway, I thought I tell you about my experience.

I was really panicking about the scan because I really hate enclosed spaces and I really hate feeling trapped! I also find it impossible to just do nothing for any period of time so I wasn’t looking forward to that aspect of it!

Anyway, they called me in and told RiverSystem he had to stay outside and I was hoping he could come in.

I took all my jewellery off before I went to the hospital because I knew I wouldn’t be able to wear it in the scanner.

I had a questionnaire to fill in before I went which asked questions about my medical history and if I had any metal plates or anything which I do. I have one in my ankle and clips from my gall bladder operation. As both were put in before the last three months they were sufficiently embedded not to make a difference.

I had to take my jeans off and put on on one of those flattering gowns. I also had to put my bag in a locker to keep them safe. The the nurse put a cannula in my left arm because I asked her to put it there as I’m right handed.

Then she gave me some time to myself to Centre myself before the scan while she went to help the previous patient. I felt that this was important because I was starting to panic. I was able to calm myself down with deep breathing exercises and a quick prayer.

They took me into the room and the scanner was as bad as I expected! It was really small and being slightly obese, they had a bit if trouble getting me in the scanner. I had to raise my arms to keep them out of the way which I found really painful after 10 minutes!

They got me in finally and I found that if I breathed normally, I had more than enough room to breathe so I closed my eyes and forced myse to breathe calmly. They gave me a call button to call them if I started to panic. Then they injected the dye into my cannula and left me while they did the scan.

I carried on with my deep breathing exercises and tried to think of better things while the scan started. The noise was really loud but my mind still drifted. I’m convinced they put something in the cannula to keep me calm because I fell asleep! I was still aware of the noise but I didn’t care. I was feeling drowsy and couldn’t stay awake!

The next thing I knew, they were telling me they were coming to put a second dye in! The nurse came in and told me I was doing really well and that I only had 10 minutes left while she injected the second dye. She left the room and I drifted again for another 10 minutes.

Then they came back in and told me the scan was over and they set me free from the scanner and helped me up. They took me back out to the other room and took my cannula out. I got dressed and left.

When I got home, I slept some more. Later, I took the micropore tape off the inside of my elbow. The only problem I had was that I had a reaction to the tape, which has never happened before!

After I took the micropore off.

I hope this post has helped you to not feel so nervous about having an MRI! I’m not claustrophobic by any stretch of the imagination so I can’t even begin to understand how claustrophobic people would feel but I hope my readers who are about to have one are helped by reading about my experience.

Like I said, I haven’t had the results yet. I’ll be getting them Monday but the gynaecologist thinks I have a dermoid cyst on my left ovary and that I have polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS). If the big cyst is a dermoid cyst, I’ll have to have it removed. I’m not looking forward to that at all!

Have you ever had an MRI scan? What was your experience? I’d love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

