Business · Crochet · Depression · Fibromyalgia · Gifted Goodies · Inspiration · Knitting · music · Musician · Pattern · Podcasts · Random Musings · Ravelry · Recording Studio · RiverSystem · Teddy · Test Knitter Needed · Violin · Willis Accounting · WIP Bag · Yarn Addict

Gifted Goodies Podcast – Episode 4 – The results, Fibro, Having the flu!

https://www.podbean.com/media/player/vhd3x-667d00?from=yiiadmin&skin=108&share=1&fonts=Helvetica&auto=0&download=0

I want to apologising again for not publishing a podcast at the beginning of the month. I wanted to wait until I had stopped coughing. This flu virus is horrendous and everyone has had it for a long time. At least 3 or 4 weeks. It’s had a big effect on my fibro and I’m still recovering from it. Have you ever felt like you’re drowning in exhaustion? This is how I feel at the moment.

wp-1484242250408.jpg

So I’ve been designing a bit this month. I designed a frog hat for a friend. She asked me to make a small one for her friend’s daughter and an adult sized hat for herself. They’re all finished now and I was hoping to post them today but I felt so ill that I couldn’t get to the post office! The hat is now available in my Etsy shop. It starts from £4.oo plus P&P.

Ooh! And I publish a fingerless mitts pattern to match my Streaming Through the Mountains Cowl.

img_20170111_111113_556.jpg

I’ve started testing a new pattern for MrsDaftSpaniel this week. I’m testing her Fields of Wheat Hat. It’s actually a really easy pattern to follow. It does require some intermediate skills but if I can do it then so can you. I’ll let you know when the pattern is available on Ravelry. Also, we’re planning an ebook of shawls and scarves.

self-care-sunday

I told you last week about my new plan to schedule time for me and for selfless time. I’m not being proprietary about the #selfcaresunday and #selflesssaturday posts. Feel free to use them and I’ll share your pictures on the blog in my monthly round up post! I’ve started a shawl for me and a Tunisian Crochet blanket for a local cat charity. If you want to read more about it, the original post is here.

wp-1484242304791.jpgI’ve been making a few things for my friend Sadie. I’m currently making her a pair of knee high socks that I’m using to learn the Two At a Time Magic Loop method. I seem to have gotten the hang of it. The pattern I’m using was in last month’s Simply Knitting.

img_20170111_133217_114.jpgI’m also making Sadie a cowl and hat from Rae Gronmark’s ebook Autumn in Skyrim. It’s a really cool book with lots of cool patterns. I’m planning on making the Forsworn Cowl for me. I’m just torn between the real yarn and this shade of Stylecraft Special DK. Also, I’m excited to announce that I am planning an interview with Rae in the near future. I just need to work out how to record a Skype interview with Garageband and then drop it into my podcast. If you have any idea of how to do this, feel free to email me on giftedgoodies@hotmail.co.uk or message me on Instagram.

Also, I blogged about my crafty exploits in 2016. You can read about it here.

Tax returns! If you haven’t done it yet, why not?!? If you need any hints and tips, I blogged about it here. Don’t forget that the deadline is the 31st of January so you have roughly 3 weeks left!

Music

Also, stop the presses! I only went and passed my grade 1 violin exam! I’m so chuffed!!!

I’ve been listening this month to the new EP by Bryony Seir. She’s a very talented local artist. Her EP The Crossroads is available on iTunes. I recommend listening to it. She’s amazing!

I’ve also been listening to the Alexander Armstrong Album. Don’t knock it! It’s actually really really good! I’m not a Pink Floyd fan but his version of High Hopes sent shivers down my spine!

I’ve discovered lots of new bands this month but I plan a post about them all next week.

I’m so excited about the new Ed Sheeran album. He’s called it Division or Divide. I’m really looking forward to it. Are you?

RiverSystem is practicing hard for his grade 2 rock school guitar exam. He’s bought himself a new guitar. It’s an AntÓnio Pinto de Cavalio which is a Portuguese make. He got it from A Strings. It sounds lovely. There’s a video of him playing it on my Instagram.

@riversystem playing his new guitar… #antóniopintodecavalio #apc @astringsuk The dog jumped on my lap while I was filming!

A video posted by Michelle (@gifted_goodies) on Jan 12, 2017 at 7:49am PST

 

Final Thoughts

Oh! I also wanted to tell you about Zoe from the Pins & Needles Podcast and her ‘Newfangled Makealong’. The premise is simple. Basically, you try something new. The discussion thread on Ravelry is here. My plan is to try Brioche knitting and have downloaded this mug mat to do so. What would you like to try? Why not use the makealong as an excuse. One of my patterns is a prize. The makealong ends on the 28th February so you’ve got lots of time to get going!

Thank you for listening to my podcast. I’m really touched by everyone who listens. I’d like to thank each and every one of you for doing so. I hope you enjoy this month’s offering!

Oh! And one more thing! RiverSystem had a half finished song on his desk and I felt that I had to stick my oar in! He’s playing it in the video on my Instagram page.

3 thoughts on “Gifted Goodies Podcast – Episode 4 – The results, Fibro, Having the flu!

Leave a Reply

