Crochet · Gifted Goodies · Initiate Knit Design Challenge · Inspiration · Knitting · Pattern · Podcasts · Random Musings · Ravelry · Recording Studio · RiverSystem · Shawl · Siôl Fagu

2016 – A Crafty Review…

According  to Ravelry, I completed 37 projects last year and I have 7 WIPs. (Works In Progress) I thought I’d share a few of my favourites here!

First, I’d like to apologise for not recording my podcast yet this month. I lost my voice with this flu virus and had a horrible chesty cough. I didn’t want to record it while I was coughing so much! I’m hoping to get it recorded this week. I’ll give you a shout when it’s up!

So, I know you’re dying to know what I made last year!

I did some pattern testing for MrsDaftSpaniel last year. I actually really enjoyed it and I hope I get the chance to test more patterns. When I’ve caught up on my list of gifts that is!

Last year, I finally started on my pattern designing journey with a lot of help and encouragement from friends and family. My first pattern that I released was my Caterpillar Baby Cocoon that was inspired by a popular baby book!  I currently have 6 patterns in my Ravelry store with plans to release more. I’m currently designing a frog hat, a traditional Welsh nursing shawl with a matching scarf for Mam and a scarf that can be made for all of the family. My latest pattern release is a pair of mittens to match my Streaming Through The Mountains Cowl.

Last year I finally got the hang of knitting! My very first big project was for me! It was the Nurmilintu Shawl. It’s not perfect but it looks good. I think though that my biggest achievement this year was socks. I’ve knitted 4 pairs for me (including my Dubin Bay Socks), one pair for RiverSystem and a pair for my friend Sadie. I’m planning on designing my own socks this year so watch this space!

Last year I made a lot of gifts. I made a jumper for RiverSystems nephew. I also made a hat, scarf and gloves set for a friend and lots of bits and pieces for others. My prototype caterpillar cocoons went to friends that expecting babies this year. One has been born already! There must have been something in the water last year because so many people got pregnant! Also, one of my closest friends, Sadie, got married last year. I made her a blanket as a wedding gift.

I made quite a few sales last year. The biggest of which was a blanket for a special little boy in Scotland. My dinosaur hats were really popular last year! I even had an order for an adult sized hat! If you want your own Dino Hat, it’s available in my Etsy Store. In December alone I finished Leo’s Blanket, a scarf that was designed by my sister in law and a cowl and fingerless mitts that I designed and I’m going to give them to a friend.

On my hooks and needles at the moment I have:

  • The Coastal Waves Scarf – My design.
  • A piglet hat that I’ve fallen out of love with and might frog.
  • A cowl and socks for my friend Sadie – The cowl is by a very talented young designer. The socks were in last month’s Simply Knitting.
  • A Wheat Fields Shawl by Frenchie Danoy for me – Check out my blog post on the subject of #SelfcareSunday and #SelflessSaturday…
  • A Tunisian Crochet Blanket that I’m going to auction off on eBay. – See above blog post for an explanation of #SelflessSaturday.
  • And as if I don’t have enough on the go! I’ve started making a baby jumper for a friend’s daughter who’s expecting in March and is having a baby shower this month!

I’m hoping to finish something this month!

What have you got planned for the year? I’d love to see photos. If you decide to follow one of my designs use the tag #giftedgoodiespattern when you share them on social media and tag me (gifted_goodies) so I can see what you’re up to!

4 thoughts on “2016 – A Crafty Review…

Leave a Reply

