Depression · Fibromyalgia · Operation Better Me · Random Musings

What is Normal?

Today I want to talk to you about ‘Normaility’. I know what you’re thinking! ‘Normaility is boring!’ But is it? Really?

At the end of the day ‘normal’ means something different for different people. Drug addicts say that they take drugs to feel ‘normal’ without really understanding what ‘normal’ is. And I’m not being funny or anything but ‘normaility’ is a fluid concept. For example, my ‘normal’ 10 years ago is a million miles away from what it is now! And do you know what? That’s ok because I accept that. Life changes and we can’t go back and rewrite our history like Marty McFly and Doc Brown! We don’t have a time machine! So we have to live with the reality that we face every day and as my mother once told me: ‘Chaulk it up to experience and move on!’

My problem isn’t that my new normal isn’t a bed of roses or that that someone else’s is said bed of roses. Who wants to sleep in a bed of roses with thorns anyway? My problem is when you with your perfect house with the white picket fence and the perfect partner and perfect children judge me and tell me to stop talking about my normal. Because do you know why you don’t want me to talk about how horrible my life is or the constant barrage of pain I face every day? It’s because you don’t want to admit that there are people in this world that are suffering. You want to go on in your happy little dream world pretending that everything is fine and dandy in the garden when in actual fact a thief just nicked your lawn mower, the cat has just dug up your precious bed of roses to use it as a litter tray and the dog’s barking at the rat that’s just gnawed a hole through your compost heap!

At the end of the day, life isn’t always brilliant for everyone. There are some major problems in this world that are not going to be solved by closed mindedly swanning through life and trampling over less fortunate people to keep up the lifestyle we’re accustomed too. If we do that, then we’re no better than the white slave traders who dragged African people to the Americas to work in their plantations.

So fine! You live in your posh house with your posh garden and your posh family and if you must talk about it. But don’t tell me to keep quiet because my normal isn’t what your vision of life should be. Don’t tell me that my life is somehow less worthy than yours because I don’t have a ‘normal’ job or ‘normal’ health because your normal and my normal are two very different things!

*Rant over* Apologies. Normal service will resume shortly. (And no the pun wasn’t intended!) Head over to my podcast for happy things and I’ll get back to you with a new train of thought tomorrow…

2 thoughts on “What is Normal?

  1. You tell it like it is, girl. I’m with you. We each have our own ‘normal’ and no one can saddle us with their ‘normal’ as much as some would like to. Live and let live, love and don’t stop.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

