Gifted Goodies · Inspiration · Knitting · Operation Better Me · Pattern · Random Musings · Ravelry · Review · WIP Bag · Yarn Addict

Streaming Through The Mountains Cowl…


So last week Blacker Yarns released their Cornish Tin II for their anniversary. I had read in various blogs and heard from various podcasts that this yarn was the bees knees! You can read my sister in laws’ here. Anyway, I knew that I wanted needed to buy it as soon as it came out. When it came out, I was a bit skint so I couldn’t buy it straight away but I knew that I needed to get some before Yarndale because it was going to be sold out after because everyone has raved about it sooo much!

So I borrowed from Peter to pay Paul and headed over to BritYarn to get my hands on some. I decided to get the 4ply because I’m currently obsessed with 4ply yarn. I opted for the undyed Levant Grey of which Isla only had 1 left. I waited with anticipation and apologised profusely to RiverSystem for spending MOST of my monthly yarn budget on it when I’d already promised to buy some yarn to make him a traditional gansey

I have to say though it was sooo worth it! The yarn came the next day and as soon as I opened it, I knew I’d made the right decision! It was so soft and cuddly and still smelled of sheep in a good way!

I knew I wanted to make something special but I knew that if I wasn’t careful, it would languish in my stash where I’d pick it up every now and then and sigh and stroke it and look again for THE perfect pattern which let’s face it was never going to come along…

I knew exactly what I wanted and how I wanted it to look but I couldn’t find it. So I sketched out my idea and hunted for the stitches that would bring my idea to life! I wanted to represent the mountain home of the sheep that roam the Brecon Beacons. The South Wales Valleys border the Brecon Beacons and I love driving up there just to sit and watch the world go by. I don’t do it anywhere near as often as I’d like.

I found the Japanese Feather stitch to represent the mountain streams and I decided to use the Ladder stitch to represent the rocky meadows and the Streaming Through The Mountains Cowl was born. Like my Autumnal Dog Walk Cowl, I’ve decided to provisionally cast on and join with a Kitchener stitch which I’m getting a lot better at! The central column is Japanese Feather stitch and the sides are ladder stitch. I quite like the wavy effect of it. I plan to block it before I join it and I want to block in the waviness. We’ll see how successful I am in that endeavour… I’ve just finished my 3rd pattern repeat and I intend to do 6 more.

I’ll let you know how it goes…

Michelle xoxox

2 thoughts on “Streaming Through The Mountains Cowl…

Leave a Reply

