Crochet · Gifted Goodies · Pattern · Ravelry · WIP Bag

Caterpillar Baby Cocoon


Back in June, I saw a project on Pinterest of a lady who had knitted a caterpillar baby cocoon and I loved it. I put a picture of it on Instagram and said that it was a shame that I didn’t know anyone who was pregnant. Within minutes of me posting it a friend who isn’t on Instagram texted me to say her daughter was expecting and another friend sent me a message on Instagram telling me she was pregnant but to keep it under my hat for now. Both friends loved the baby cocoon and because they’ve both been so good to me, I felt I had to do something for the babies. I fancied crocheting it rather than knitting it so I had a look on Ravelry and saw that there weren’t any patterns that had the wow effect so I decided to just use the colours for inspiration and to make it up as I went along.

The results are above. Cute or what?!? Anyway, as I shared my creation on Instagram lots of people asked for the pattern and we’re really excited about it so I decided to write down what I was doing it. I finished the pattern last week and after sending it to MrsDaftSpaniel to check it over for mistakes, I decided to post it on Ravelry for sale. Have a look at Marta’s patterns, they’re fantastic and she deserves a lot more attention than she gets!

The pattern is available for just £2.40 here. If you don’t fancy making it yourself, you can get one in my Etsy shop for just £25. I know what you’re thinking. £25 does sound like a lot but with the amount of work that goes into making them it’s a fair price and it’s similar to what others are charging for similar cocoons. It’s only available in newborn at the moment but when I get five minutes, I’ll be working out how to make it in bigger sizes.

Ooh! And within 12 hours of me listing it, someone loved it enough to buy it! The only thing that annoys me is that I have to charge VAT for the pattern because it’s a digital download. Fortunately Ravelry sort out the VAT for you but it’s still a bind and totally unnecessary!

I’d love to know what you think of my pattern. Feel free to email me at giftedgoodies@hotmail.co.uk if you have any questions.

I have an exciting announcement coming up in October so check back here for more information on the 7th of October!

NB: If you want to sell your creation from my pattern, I don’t mind but I would appreciate a credit with a link to my Ravelry store.

2 thoughts on “Caterpillar Baby Cocoon

Leave a Reply

